Student Yelyzaveta Shevchenko pictured with Professor George Munro with award

Student Award Highlight

History and Political Science major, Yelyzaveta Shevchenko, won the best undergraduate paper in Slavic Studies for 2018 at the Southern Conference on Slavic Studies. Her paper "Russian Sartorial Aesthetics under Catherine the Great" was written in Professor Munroe’s History 490 class in fall 2018.

Other Recent Student Awards

  • Alden G. Bigelow Undergraduate Essay Award: Kyle J. Rogers
  • F. Edward Lund GPA Award: Catherine Boggs, Jared Liggan, and Miranda Madray
  • James Tice Moore Graduate Essay Award: Victoria Glover
  • Albert A. Rogers Undergraduate Essay Award: David Hayter
  • W.E.B. Dubois Award for Excellence in History: Carleigh Marshall


Undergraduate history majors are eligible to compete for a number of awards during their study at VCU. For more information on any of the awards below, contact Dr. Joseph Bendersky, department of history.

The round of awards for the 2018-2019 academic year has been completed. The application deadline for the next round of awards for the 2019-2020 academic year is February 15, 2020.

Dean's Scholar Award

Distinction awarded to students with a 4.0 GPA

Award Recipients:

  • 2015-2016, Mr. Evan V. Clarke, Mr. Daniel J. Dawson, Mr. Thomas J. Dorsey, Ms. Kelly L. Lipford, Mr. Paul M. Nordvig, Ms. Ashley E. Perry, Mr. Brandon S. Seal
  • 2013-2014, Ms. Joanne Y. Chiao, Mr. Benjamin W. Fletcher, Ms. Kelly . Lipford, Ms. Ashley E. Perry, Ms. Adrianna C. ScheerCook, Ms. Elizabeth A. Sorensen, Mr. Colin H. Walker
  • 2011-2012, Ms. Debbi Price
  • 2010-2011, Mr. Robert Ball, Mr. Charles Lockett, Mr. Jonathan Metcalf, Mr. Anthony Perkins, Ms. Debbi Price
  • 2009-2010, Mr. Robert Ball

Alden G. Bigelow Award

Named for an associate professor who served in the department from the 1950s until the 1980s. The award is presented to the student writing the best class paper or completing the best project for any history course other than Honors or Independent Study during the previous academic year.

Award Recipients

  • 2019-2020, Ms. Yelyzaveta Shevchenko
  • 2018-2019, Mr. Kyle Rogers
  • 2016-2017, Ms. Emily Buss
  • 2015-2016, Mr. Daniel Dawson
  • 2014-2015, Mr. Caleb E. Greene
  • 2013-2014, Ms. Adrianna C. ScheerCook
  • 2012-2013, Mr. Anthony Cox
  • 2010-2011, Mr. Elliott Richardson 
  • 2008-2009, Ms. Amanda Lee Savage
  • 2007-2008, Ms. Emily Gershman
  • 2006-2007, Ms. Catherine Lee Porter
  • 2005-2006, Mr. Arian R. Terrill
  • 2002-2003, Ms. Jennifer Bishop
  • 2001-2002, Ms. Emily Rusk
  • 1998-1999, Mr. Ward Howarth, Ms. Veronica Mattera, Mr. William C. Vann, Jr.
  • 1996-1997, Ms. Melissa A. Menefee
  • 1993-1994, Mr. Stephen Retherford

W.E.B. DuBois Award

Identifies and encourages a promising African American undergraduate to pursue graduate work in history. This award is presented as part of the "Black History in the Making" celebration sponsored by the Department of African American Studies. Student receives a copy of DuBois' 1903 classic The Souls of Black Folks and another book prize.

Award Recipients

  • 2019-2020, Ms. Carleigh Marshall
  • 2017-2018, Ms. Courtney Jones
  • 2016-2017, Ms. Mariah Hines
  • 2015-2016, Mr. Elias Mekonen
  • 2014-2015, Mr. David A. Morris
  • 2013-2014, Ms. Jalesa A. Taylor
  • 2012-2013, Ms. Antoinette Moore
  • 2010-2011, Ms. Brittany N. Johnson
  • 2009-2010, Mr. Nicholas A. Betts
  • 2008-2009, Mr. Stephen Davenport
  • 2007-2008, Mr. Greg O. Johnson
  • 2006-2007, Ms. Kiesha D. Green
  • 2005-2006, Ms. Ronni E. Griffin
  • 2004-2005, Ms. Angela Mack, Mr. Gabriel Williams
  • 2002-2003, Mr. Andrew E. Ashu, Ms. Saedah A. Tyler-Muhammad
  • 2001-2002, Ms. LaToya S. Gray
  • 1999-2000, Ms. Crystal Odusanya
  • 1998-1999, Mr. Bobby T. Shockley
  • 1997-1998, Ms. Raphaela Butts
  • 1996-1997, Ms. Julie M. Murray
  • 1995-1996, Mr. Ozay M. Jones
  • 1993-1994, Ms. Marilyn Heckstall

F. Edward Lund Award

Named for a department chairman in the late 1960s and early 1970s. This award is presented to the graduating senior history major with the highest grade point average in seven or more history courses taken at Virginia Commonwealth University.

Award Recipients

  • 2019-2020, Ms. Margaret McClelland, Aaron Rodriguez
  • 2018-2019, Ms. Miranda L. Madray, Ms. Lesley Boggs, Mr. Jared Liggan
  • 2016-2017, Ms. Mariah Hines, Mr. Thomas J. Dorsey
  • 2015-2016, Mr. Evan V. Clarke, Mr. Daniel J. Dawson, Ms. Kelly L. Lipford, Mr. Paul M. Nordvig, Mr. Brandon S. Seal
  • 2014-2015, Mr. Benjamin W. Fletcher, Ms. Carley Langley
  • 2013-2014, Ms. Joanne Y. Chiao, Mr. Hayden Hodges, Ms. Hilaire T. Meire, Ms. Adrianna C. ScheerCook
  • 2012-2013, Mr. Robert Ball, Ms. Sarah Ludley, Mr. Anthony Perkins, Mr. Kelton Rasmussen
  • 2011-2012, Ms. Debbi Price
  • 2010-2011, Ms. Suzanne Hicks, Mr. Ben Plache
  • 2009-2010, Ms. Brittany G. Foster, Mr. Sarah Hornberger
  • 2008-2009, Ms. Martha Ann Harper, Mr. Vinod Kondragunta
  • 2007-2008, Ms. Megan A. Mercer
  • 2006-2007, Mr. Arian R. Terrill
  • 2005-2006, Mr. Stephen Lee Thornton
  • 2004-2005, Mr. Matthew J. Compton
  • 2003-2004, Mr. Peter Laborde
  • 2002-2003, Ms. Adi Catherine Arad, Ms. Jennifer Bishop, Mr. Adam Nathanson
  • 2001-2002, Mr. Ryan Conway
  • 2000-2001, Mr. Michael Hasenfus
  • 1999-2000, Mr. William C. Vann, Jr.
  • 1998-1999, Ms. Keri Dawson
  • 1997-1998, Mr. M. Bruce Hunroe, Mr. Kevin McNally, Mr. David L. Smith
  • 1996-1997, Mr. Wynne Lee Edwards, Jr., Ms. Jennifer Lynn Creger
  • 1993-1994, Mr. Lawrence D. Griffith, Mr. Christopher Magoulas

James Tice Moore Graduate Essay Award

Award Recipients

  • 2019-2020, Ms. Ana Edwards
  • 2018-2019, Ms. Victoria Glover
  • 2016-2017, Ms. Marlea Donaho
  • 2015-2016, Ms. Kathryn S. Parkhurst
  • 2014-2015, Ms. Amanda Tompkins
  • 2013-2014, Ms. Caitlin D. Foltz
  • 2012-2013, Mr. Anthony Cox
  • 2010-2011, Mr. Bryan Kessler

Albert A. Rogers Award

Named for the department's first chairman, whose service at the University extended from the 1940s to the 1970s. This award is presented for the best paper written in Honors History or Independent Study during the previous academic year.

Award Recipients

  • 2019-2020, Mr. David Hayter
  • 2002-2003, Mr. Eric S. Crane, Mr. Adam Nathanson
  • 2001-2002, Ms. Elizabeth Seward
  • 1999-2000, Mr. William Vann
  • 1998-1999, Ms. Patricia Paine
  • 1996-1997, Ms. Kristin A. Thrower
  • 1993-1994, Mr. Scott Maurer, Mr. Jamie R. Novotny