Kudos to History Faculty for Recent Accomplishments

May 24, 2019

The History Department is pleased to announce some recent faculty accomplishments!

John Kneebone has won the University Award of Excellence, an award which comes out of the President's Office and is open to all faculty from both campuses in the university. This is a great honor for him and celebrates everything he has accomplished as a faculty member and chair in the History Department as well as through his service to the university. John will be formally presented with this award during the university's fall convocation in August.

Karen Rader has been elected as the future president of the History of Science Society. She will serve for two years as the society's vice president, then become president for two years, and finally transition to president emerita for another two. This is a prestigious position, which reflects her status within the history of science community and her commitment to professional service.

Greg Smithers has been named as one of the the College of Humanities and Science's eminent scholars. This award is a testament to Greg's research productivity and excellence in scholarship. He will hold this position for five years.

Brooke Newman has been named as the interim director of the VCU Humanities Research Center (HRC). She will lead the HRC through its upcoming transition to a new permanent director.